Free From Sin CD Review

I had a new cd cross my path recently. The band, Free From Sin from Sweden. The self titled release sat on my desk for a few weeks before I had the chance to give it a complete listen to. Luck had it that I managed to have added it to my iTunes before a long flight to Atlanta.  As boredom set in I suddenly remembered I had new music to listen to so I turned my phone on, plugged in my earbuds and closed my eyes.

I wasn’t sure what to expect as I had never heard of Free From Sin before bumping into their manager, Helena Larsson, at another show I was covering. She mentioned she was representing a band she thought I’d like and handed me a copy of “Free From Sin” to check out. Fast forward two weeks later.  As I sat there listening to each song I heard a mix of so many musical greats I have enjoyed over the years wrapped up into their own unique sound. Some of the bands I heard right off were Deep Purple, Rainbow, early Iron Maiden, Whitesnake, Rush, Helloween, Gamma Ray, and Europe. The mix of keyboards, guitars and percussion really brought up the feelings I had as a teenager listening to some of the great bands for the first time. The vocalists range goes from a deep, gritty and bluesy tone to sharp, high pitched 80’s metal scream in an instant.

The first few songs with vocals, “Evershine” and “Free From Sin”, were hard to listen to at first while trying to grasp where this band was going. By the third song “Believer”, when I immediately recognized a familiar sound of early Iron Maiden mixed in with early Helloween instrumentals, I found myself tapping my fingers to the fast paced tempo and no longer focused on the new vocals I was hearing. It all became one.

As I listened to the rest of the cd I found that I really enjoyed it. It’s unique yet familiar. If you enjoy the classic rock n roll sound and German power metal you will enjoy this band. I strongly suggest you take a listen to them and decide for yourself. As for me, I am going to repeatedly enjoy listening to Free From Sin.

So how do you find these guys? Here’s the details: you can grab their music on iTunes, Amazon or listen via Spotify. Visit the bands official website here Free From Sin for more information abd to link up to their social media.

Free From Sin tracks:

Requiem

Evershine

Free From Sin

Believer

Evil or Divine

Dreamstealer

Stumbling Down a Wicked Road

The Masquerade

Temple of Fear

La Grande Finale

Take a listen then come back and tell me what you think.

Photo credit: Image used from the Free From Sin Facebook page.

Leave a Reply

