Paul McCartney Performs at Seattle’s Key Arena

Over the last few years I started a list of must see artists that I have never seen before.  I have slowing been checking them off, but in December of 2015 when we lost Lemmy Kilmister followed shortly by David Bowie and most recently John English I have gotten much more serious about seeing artists I have enjoyed in my life but have never had the change to see live.  Luckily for me I had the pleasure of seeing these beloved artists we just lost over the last few months, but before last night I had never had a chance to see Paul McCartney so when I heard he was coming to Seattle I hurried to buy my ticket so I could see his show.  Not that I am expecting any artist I have not seen to pass away, let’s clear that point up right now!  I was already on the road to see all of the artists I have not had a chance to see live yet and he was one of them.

I didn’t know what to expect from Paul’s show.  Sure he was a Beatle, one of the pioneering musical groups of all time.  He has also been a solo artist, collaborated with many other artists, worked with Wings and has even been knighted by the Queen of England.  So what would his show entail for those of us in Seattle? Well last night I found out for myself.

It was a beautiful 70 degree evening in Seattle so many people were sitting outside around the International Fountain waiting for the doors to open.  As I walked across the Seattle Center grounds I was greeted by a bicycle Rickshaw taxi giving a couple a ride through the rhododendron lined paths that lead up to the Key Arena blasting the Beatles “She Loves You” while the couple in the back were clapping a singing along.  The lines to enter were long, luckily the Key has multiple entries around the building so it usually makes it a little easier to enter.  With that said, there were still long lines outside at 8:00pm when the show was scheduled to start which delayed the start of the show.  At 8:22pm we had one fan sitting behind us that was tired of waiting and starting screaming and cussing to get the show started.  Ahhhh I didn’t realize I was at a Guns & Roses show lol!  Luckily for all of us around him the show started a few minutes after his explosion.

Paul McCartney took the stage while doing a few waves to the sold out audience and led straight into the opening song of the night, “Hard Days Night”.  The crowd was up on their feet cheering and taking photos of this wonderful moment then they settled back down into their seats to enjoy the show.  The evening progressed with a little local homage to our beloved Jimi Hendrix with a musical outro of “Foxy Lady”.  Paul performed songs all through out his career and even reached way back into The Quarrymen for a song.  In between songs Paul removed his jacket and the ladies of the audience cheered like teenagers which prompted Paul to say that was his only wardrobe change of the evening.  Nice and playful with is fans! Cute, Paul, very cute.

As the encore arrived Paul had a special treat for the local Seattle audience, a surprise performance with Krist Novoselic of the band Nirvana.  Krist joined Paul on stage during Helter Skelter, the back drop was psychedelic and the lights were flashing wildly.  Many people knew who Krist was, but just as many didn’t.  Nirvana is not everyone’s musical taste, but Paul is fan of Nirvana for sure.  The crowd enjoyed the performance and a few fans got the song on video and uploaded to YouTube to share with the world.  Me, I had already put my camera down to just soak in what I was witnessing.  I have shared the video below,but with fair warning to anyone who has issues with strobe lights, it may make you not feel well so watch with caution.  All and all, this was a great show!  For my first time seeing Paul McCartney I was very pleased by this performance and would say to those of you out there who have yet to see him live, get out there and do it.  Paul is still in full North America tour mode and has many dates left so check his dates below and if you can, get a ticket to see him.  Either way there is video and a photo gallery (below the setlist) to enjoy!

Video Credit: que4bene’s channel via YouTube

Paul McCartney 2016 Tour Dates:
04/19 – Vancouver, BC @ Rogers Arena
04/20 – Vancouver, BC @ Rogers Arena
04/30 – Little Rock, AR @ Verizon Arena
05/02 – Sioux Falls, SD @ Denny Sanford Premier Center
05/04 – Minneapolis, MN @ Target Center
05/05 – Minneapolis, MN @ Target Center
06/12 – Landgraaf, NL @ Pinkpop Festival
06/30 – Werchter, BE @ Rock Werchter
07/08 – Milwaukee, WI @ Summerfest
07/10 – Cincinnati, OH @ US Bank Arena
07/12 – Philadelphia, PA @ Citizens Bank Park
07/19 – Hershey, PA @ Hersheypark Stadium
07/21 – Hamiliton, ON @ FirstOntario Centre
08/07 – East Rutherford, NJ @ MetLife Stadium
08/13 – St. Louis, MO @ Busch Stadium

Setlist

Electric Set Pt. 1
A Hard Day’s Night
Save Us
Can’t Buy Me Love
Letting Go
Temporary Secretary
Let Me Roll It (with Jimi Hendrix’s ‘Foxy Lady’ outro)
I’ve Got a Feeling
My Valentine
Nineteen Hundred and Eighty-Five
Here, There and Everywhere
Maybe I’m Amazed

Acoustic guitar set
We Can Work It Out
In Spite of All the Danger
You Won’t See Me
Love Me Do
And I Love Her
Blackbird
Here Today

Electric Set Pt. 2
Queenie Eye
New
The Fool on the Hill
Lady Madonna
FourFiveSeconds
Eleanor Rigby
Being for the Benefit of Mr. Kite!
Something
Ob-La-Di, Ob-La-Da
Band on the Run
Back in the U.S.S.R.
Let It Be
Live and Let Die
Hey Jude

Encore:
Yesterday
Hi, Hi, Hi
Birthday
Helter Skelter (with Krist Novoselic of Nirvana)
Golden Slumbers
Carry That Weight
The End

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

