It is Possible to Have Travel Planning Block….

Just as a writer can get writer’s block, a traveler can experience travel planning block.  Just a few short months from my highly anticipated trip to England, I have found this to be true. Flight has been booked for months now and car has been rented. Hotel and itinerary?  Nope, nothing.  Nothing at all.  How is this even possible?

I get starry-eyed every time I talk about England.  It’s a country that has a piece of my heart.  Not just from my travels there, but also from my family ties to England.  Every time I am there I feel a deep pull to the West Midlands up into Warwickshire.  I could never put my finger on it until finding out my great grand father is from that area of England.  Odd but makes sense to me now how I always feel at home when I am there.

I never miss a chance to take a trip to England.  It has something for everyone.  Large, busy cities overflowing with culture, art, shopping, food, history and industry.  Then there are quaint villages spread all across the country that bring on a sense of peace with whimsical views of the sweeping countryside and architecture that is rarely seen in the USA.  Let’s not forget the coastal towns either, they are just as lovely as the others.  So how did I get here?  Why can’t I decide on my plans this time?

Could it be that there is just so much to do that I feel a pull in every direction?  Could it be this indecisive Libra brain of mine that seems to never want to make or commit to any decision?  What could it be?  There is something keeping me from making a decision.  It could be that part of me loves particular areas and I want to go back there, but then again I don’t want to only go to the same places every time I visit.  Then it could also be that I love these areas so much I may have a case of “What if I go elsewhere and I do not like it, then I missed going where I love to go”, lol it’s enough to make a sane person go mad.

I am sure some of you are reading this and thinking, wow what a problem to have???  Give me your ticket and I will go.  I am sure I’d probably think the same thing (I mean really #firstworldproblems right?).  I even hit Twitter and asked for input from some other travelers to see if they have ever had this issue.  However, I did get some great ideas from sending that Tweet.  I think I may just have a case of “I want to do it all, but I don’t have the time to do it all”, oh to make a decision!

I do know I want to go to my great grandfather’s home town, so that at least sets me in one direction for part of my trip (and no, that’s not a One Direction band pun, even though when in England… play Iron Maiden! lol).  I think I will look through some past trip photos and see if I can gather more inspiration to set my itinerary.

Have you ever had this experience where you were set to travel but couldn’t lock in your plans once you landed in your destination?  What did you do or did you just make it up as you went?  I’d love to hear what your experiences have been.  Take care and keep on traveling!

 

4 Comments on It is Possible to Have Travel Planning Block….

  1. I always freak out right before a big trip, especially if I can only take a certain amount of time off work. Do I really want to go to Bangkok?! Oh God, Hong Kong would be so cool though! I get all worked up and can’t pick. I usually let the price then decide my destination. But you’re right, it’s quite an awesome problem to have. 🙂

  2. Our solution has been to decide each day in the morning when we get up. But we found that harder to do in the UK last year because it was harder to find a place to stay without previous reservations — but we still rarely made reservations more than a day or two out.

    • Did you find a large difference in prices booking that way? I know there have been times where I have changed plans at the last minute and lucked into a hotel without too much of a price hike.

Leave a Reply

